Here’s my Bucket List

Because shouldn’t we all have one? Maybe, maybe not. I admit, the idea is kind of cheesy, but I think it’s fun to think about the things we want to accomplish in this life. Fleeting as this life is, God put us here for a time and for a reason and I want to have goals. Otherwise I might be in danger of sitting around eating goldfish on my couch watching LOST reruns for the rest of my life.

When I lived in Colorado, one night my roommate Courtney decided to invite the random guys next door to hang out with us. Kelly and I were like, “Uh, really? I mean, ok…” But they were pretty fun (and actually a little drunk) and we had a good time chatting. At one point during the evening, one of the guys pulled out a tattered piece of paper with faded writing out of his wallet. He told us it was his Bucket List…and we promptly burst into uproarious laughter (it was Courtney’s fault, her laugh is incredibly infectious). We joked with him that what guy in his twenties carries something like this around with him? We giggled, but it was actually kind of sweet. I can’t even remember what his goals were and I actually never hung out with him again. But I admire his desire to accomplish things he has always dreamed about. I mean, what guy in his twenties actually thinks about that? Maybe a few. But I think this guy was unique and clearly the encounter left an impression on me.

This year, as I’ve been exploring who I am and what I love to do, I realize that there are so many things I want to do. Sometimes I get overwhelmed by the sheer magnitude of my dreams, but I also have to smile inside because God created me to be a dreamer. The problem is that those ideas can stay locked safe inside my head unless I give them a chance to break free and become realities. So here’s a little list of some things I hope to accomplish before I “kick the bucket.” I’ll add to it as I grow up, but it’s a start for now. Make your own; it’s fun. And I promise I won’t laugh at you if you decide to carry it around in your wallet.

1. Write a book (fiction? non-fiction? I dunno yet. we’ll see)

2. Complete a triathlon, half-marathon and marathon (not all at once, I’m not superman)

3. Have my own vegetable garden/live on a farm

4. See the world (yes, this is broad, but it’s what I want to do. maybe revise to say, visit each continent?)

5. Meet Leonardo DiCaprio

6. Write songs and record an album

7. Live in New York City

8. Hike the Appalachian Trail

9. Introduce someone (hopefully several someones) to Jesus

10. Go skydiving

…to be continued!

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

