Kate and Food: A Love Story

I love food and I love eating. It just brings me so much comfort to stand over a pan at the stove as the smell of onions and garlic in olive oil waft up into the air. As a child, I loved sitting in my room doing kid things while my mom cooked delicious dinners downstairs and the house was filled with wonderful aromas. There’s nothing like curling up on the couch in front of a movie with a big bowl of popcorn or ice cream, or let’s face it, a bowl of goldfish crackers which are my absolute favorite thing.

My love of eating can sometimes be detrimental because during times of sadness or stress, I head to the fridge. The extra pounds I can incur aren’t always welcome, but I usually don’t care because the food just fills the void. As I get older, I’m learning how to have a healthy relationship with food, but also love trying new recipes and enjoying big meals around the table with people I love. I’ve fallen in love with cooking and feel so satisfied when I sit down to enjoy a new dish or an old one I’ve improved on.

I realized something funny the other day. It was late at night and I was getting ready for bed. I wanted to watch a movie to fall asleep to, and I wanted it to be a movie I loved and that I’ve seen before. I didn’t want anything new that I had to pay close attention to. And my usual go-to comfort movies are rom-coms. Yup, I admit it and I’m not ashamed. I looked through my collection and just didn’t see anything that fit my mood, so I looked around on Netflix to see what was in my family’s instant queue. By the way, is there anything better than being able to watch movies instantly on Netflix?! What an ingenious idea. That and Redbox. Goodbye $5 movies from Blockbuster – I’ve moved on. Anyway, I was scanning the list and my eyes passed over one of my favorite movies – Julie and Julia. It appealed to me, but I thought, no, I’ve watched it a lot and I don’t want to get sick of it. But I just love it so much! So I kept looking, but I knew the damage was done. Once I considered the movie, I knew nothing else would work. I clicked on it and realized that I had actually already watched the first 20 minutes at some point (yes, Netflix remembers where you left off and you can resume at any time – brilliant). That’s another thing about me: I tend to start movies and not finish them, especially ones I’ve seen many times. I either lose interest or forget or fall asleep and don’t really care about picking it up the next day.

I decided not to restart the movie so I just picked up where I left off. And I sighed with contentment. A little later I chuckled to myself as I thought about why I love this movie. Yup, you guessed it – because it’s about food! Oh, I love everything else, the setting, the relationships between the husbands and wives, the humor…but truth be told, I love it because the movie is about cooking and eating. I was amused because I realized that just as I get comfort from eating and cooking food (and watching movies), I love watching movies about food! It’s like the best of both worlds. Apparently food just makes me happy. I have a feeling I might get sick of Julie and Julia, but I doubt it. Maybe I’ll just wait a little while before I see it again.

I guess I never realized that food is one of the things I’m passionate about, but there you go. You’ll probably hear more about this love affair. Until then, happy eating!

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

