High school girls and life-planners and the future and stuff

Hulllooo friends! Long time no see. I’ve been MIA for a while, but I’m back to bring you more updates of the life of Kate.

Life has been pretty uneventful lately. Just doing my thing at the office, hanging out at school, seeing friends, going to my parent’s mountain house (Ben Haven). To be honest, I’ve been a little out of it at school and I’m sad for that. I’ve just been so caught up in my own life and haven’t been pursuing girls like I want to. It’s easy for me to be a lazy Young Life leader in this environment because I can get by with doing minimal contact work – I can see few girls at night and chat with them and keep up the friendships I have without even leaving my home. I wish I sought girls out more and didn’t just hang out with the same ones. I wish I didn’t stay in my comfort zones. I wish I got to know more day students this year.

Ah, but life is not meant to be wished away. All I can do is spend time this summer praying and planning for next year. Even though I don’t know what I’m doing career-wise, I’m absolutely sure that God wants me to stay at this school. That’s a cool feeling. And I’ve learned a lot this year that I want to improve on next year. Things like hanging out with more day students, being consistent in our girls bible study, and having more organized hang outs as a hall. I really do want to take time this summer to strategize and think about the year ahead.

I’ve never really considered myself much of a planner – it certainly doesn’t come natural to me. I love to have a plan, I just don’t like to take the time to come up with one. I tend to fly off-the-cuff and just make it up as I go. I wish I had a life-planner, someone to plan for me and I just take their notes and run with them. I’d pay them. I mean, there are party planners and wedding planners and event planners…why can’t there be day-planners (no, smarty-pants, not the notebooks you buy at Staples), people who plan your days? You could just give them your goals and desires, let them work on it for a few days and them BOOM, your life is planned. At least for a few months at a time.

But since there aren’t such things, I guess that means I’ll have to do it. Maybe this is why teaching was hard for me at times. I really do love it when I’m prepared from planning something out, but I confess I just don’t do it often enough. I’m being a bit melodramatic about the whole thing – in truth, I do have the desire to think about next year and pray for girls. I know I don’t have to turn in Young Life lesson plans to anyone, but it’s always good to have ideas. This girl needs structure.

Anyway, the girls are leaving in less than 2 weeks – !! I can’t believe it. This year has flown by (don’t we say that every year?). It’s hard to believe that this time last year I was living in my parents house, dragging my butt out of bed in the wee hours of the morning to drive 45 minutes to Banana Republic and the YL office. Man, so much can change in a year. Where will I be this time next year? No way to know. God always has aces up His sleeve that leave me spellbound. But I don’t think I’ll be anywhere exotic in year, but maybe on my way somewhere. I think this year will be pretty much the same – I’m planning on living here another school year and working at the regional office. But in the mean time, I’m praying and talking about what I really want in life. It’s exciting because I know there’s something ahead that God is going to reveal to me when the time is right. But I still keep hearing Him say “Wait,” in many areas of my life. If it were up to me (and thank goodness it’s not), I’d do many things hastily and foolishly. Wait, I still do. But I’m trying not to! I’m trying to be still, to wait. To be. Man, it’s so hard to wait, but I think God knows that and He’s teaching me how to do it. I’m not alone. He calls me to be courageous and wait patiently for Him. So I’ll try.

I will miss these crazy girls over the summer. It will be nice to have more freedom and some quiet around here, but I’ll be so excited to see them in the fall. God has more work to do here at this school and I think He wants me to be a part of it. Oh how I pray that I’ll put myself aside enough to let Him use me. I don’t want to be distracted when His glory passes by. But thankfully He is patient with me and forgiving and loving…and full of outrageous grace. He’s written me into His story and I get to be a part of it. What a privilege and awesome adventure.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

