Trying to enjoy the gift of the Present

I usually wait to blog until I feel inspired or have something inspiring (or so I think) to say. But I don’t have that today. Just wanted to check in and say Hi.

Life has been full in the past week. I hesitate to say “busy” because I just hate that word. I hate being busy and I hate that when I say I’m busy it’s because I want people to think I’m well-liked and important. And honestly, I can’t say I’m too busy – my good friend Alexis, who is a full-time teacher AND mother of toddlers, would balk at such a claim. So, life has been full. Which is good! It means I feel sort-of/semi-settled here in Winston. Who knows how long I’ll be here, but I’ve learned that we must bloom where we are planted, no matter how long the season. Because as much as I try to predict God’s plans or figure out His motives (yeah, I do that – how dumb am I??), there is really NO way of knowing what He’s up to. So I might be in Winston another year, another 10 years, or only just another few months, I dunno. But I think God wants me to invest in people and life while I’m here.

And that’s something I’ve been thinking about lately, the need to be present in our daily lives. I’m a big dreamer and so I constantly live in my imagination. I’m telling you, it’s a lot of fun in there and you wouldn’t want to leave if you were me either. I love creating alternate realities for myself and imagining my life in New York City or Africa or India or Seattle or on a ranch in Montana. Some days I’m an actress and rubbing elbows with Leonardo DiCaprio at the Golden Globes; other days I’m a famous musician or author, being funny and charming on Ellen as I promote my latest album or book. I spend a lot of time in day dreams. Not all the time, mind you – there are certain times when I’m out of it more regularly, and other times when I’m all in. I think the dreams come when I get restless, which makes sense. Anyway, at the retreat this weekend, I felt a nudging from God every time my eyes glazed over and I stared off into space that said, “Kate, come back…be present.” He wants me to look at what’s going on around me, because all I’m promised is today! And days can go by in a blur when I’m not focused on reality. And I don’t want to be so worried about the life I could be living that I miss out on the life I am living. And it’s a pretty stinking good life.

I’m trying to be present here at school. It’s hard because I’ve had a lot going on so I feel like I haven’t spent a ton of time with girls lately. But on Monday night, I went into the room of two girls I really love and spent about an hour with them. It was lovely. We talked, we laughed, we stared at pictures of Zac Efron on the wall. When I went back to my room, my heart felt so full. I just love these girls. I’ve missed them. Tomorrow I’m going to a soccer game which will be lots of fun. The school year is almost over, but hopefully I can squeeze in some good solid hang out time before everyone disperses for summer vacation.

Ok, back to reading my Doc Jenson LOST* recap for the week and then reading my book. FYI – I’ve put down Love in the Time of Cholera for the moment…I know, I know, I hate my inability to finish things, but I’ll pick it back up soon. It’s just dense and I got distracted! Anyway, I’m reading the Mark of the Lion series by Francine Rivers. SO GOOD. I’m on the second one which has had a slow start, but I’ll power through. Good ol’ Francine never disappoints.

Enjoy the spring sunshine and rain! And be present today. It’s the best present you can give yourself (see how I did that play on words there?? hehe).

Hey, turns out I did have something inspiring bubbling below the surface. I love blogging! Ok, seriously, I’m going. TTFN.

*LOST.is.so.good.right.now. I love Jack Shephard!

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

