Cupids & Mortals

There are so many fun traditions here at school! The kind of things that just don’t happen at big public high schools. This week we had “Cupids and Mortals,” which is basically Secret Santa for Valentine’s Day. Everyone who wants to play fills out a piece of paper saying who they are and what kinds of snacks they like and such. Then, each person is given another’s paper and that person is your “mortal.” You are their “cupid.” So each person is a cupid to someone and a mortal for someone else. Starting on Wednesday, you give your mortal little gifts (one each day) until Friday, when you reveal your identity. It’s really quite adorable.

I decided to play because, why not? It’s a great way to be a part of the culture here and I’m just trying to soak up all of these fun things. So I received, as my mortal, a senior day student – and her name is Kate too! How fun is that?!  It was awesome because I know who she is, but I haven’t hung out with her. I was a little nervous because I didn’t want to spend a ton of money, but since this is her last year, I wanted to make it a little special.

On Wednesday I decorated her cubby in the senior lounge and her mailbox. I left her a chocolate rose, a picture of Bachelor Jake in uniform holding out a rose and a note that said, ” Kate, my love, will you accept this rose?” haha I’m so clever! Yesterday, I gave her a snickers (her favorite candy) and some of those Sweethearts with messages on them. Then today, I gave her a little stuffed elephant (her favorite animal), a little puzzle with Disney princesses (with a note telling her to remember she’s a princess), and a devotional journal. Oh, and a note revealing my identity. Pretty cute, right? It was so much fun.

Gifts for Kate! (on the last day...forgot to take pics of the other ones)

My cupid gave me some cute things – a stuffed dog and lots of chocolate (the perfect gift this week). The funny thing is that each day she gave me a Coke Zero. It just cracked me up because I don’t drink soda and I even put on my little sheet that my favorite drinks were green tea and coffee. But it’s the thought that counts!

Gifts for me! (the little baggie is full of m&m's...yummmm)

Ah, what fun. Yet another reason why living here brings me joy. I love it more and more all the time.

And I love afternoons like this that are cold and cloudy and I get to lay on my couch, wrapped in a blanket, eating chocolate from my cupid, watching Grey’s Anatomy from last night. *sigh* Life is good.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

