Way to Go, Kelly & Mark

I’m hopelessly romantic. I can’t help it – it’s just the way God made me. I like romantic movies, I love listening to romantic songs, and I dream of the  day when I get to spend the rest of my days with the love of my life and my best friend. That’s not to say I’m not content in life, because I am so thankful for this season and wow, am I falling in love with Jesus. So I can wait forever if this is what the waiting is like.

But I digress. Today, while I was waiting for my car to be serviced at the  Toyota dealership, Regis and Kelly were on TV. They’re hilarious! Best day-time show, hands down. Anyway, sometimes Kelly’s husband, Mark Consuelos, co-hosts and those are my favorite days. He didn’t today, but he was there and came on screen for something (couldn’t really hear that well). He and Kelly have been married for around 10 years I think and they are precious. I love seeing couples in Hollywood stick it out. I mean, I love seeing any couple who stay married for years and years (Bill and Jo – 31 years, HOLLA), but I feel like so many relationships in the entertainment industry fail. I find myself nervous that Mark and Kelly won’t make it, but I have faith they will. They seem solid and honestly still very much in love. So are Regis and his wife! And Freddie Prinze Jr. was on – he’s married to Sarah Michelle Gellar and they have a baby girl (adorable). I’m proud of them too. The romantic in me is pleased and hopes all these couples will make it work. Oh, Ben Affleck and Jennifer Garner – another fave.

In other news, I finally got my NC  driver’s license and registered my car. *sigh* I am officially a resident of this lovely state and I have finally said “see you later” to Colorado. Not goodbye…just “see you later.” I’m a little sad because, man, I love that place. But God is blessing me immensely here and I know this is where I need to be. I never would have thought this little state in the southeast would end up being home, but it is. And maybe I’ll end up back in CO again someday…I don’t think that story’s over…

One last thing: check out this poem by W.B. Yeats. It’s beautiful – and, of course, about love – and they read it in one of my favorite movies, Must Love Dogs. The last line is my favorite.

Brown Penny

I whispered, ‘I am too young,’

And then, ‘I am old enough;’

Wherefore I threw a penny

To find out if I might love.

‘Go and love, go and love, young man,

If the lady be young and fair.’

Ah, penny, brown penny, brown penny,

I am looped in the loops of her hair.

O love is the crooked thing,

There is nobody wise enough

To find out all that is in it,

For he would be thinking of love

Till the stars had run away

And the shadows eaten the moon

Ah, penny, brown penny, brown penny,

One cannot begin it too soon.

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Way to Go, Kelly & Mark

  1. Hi Kate! I love it that you are blogging. It’s a bit addicting, I have found. I’m so glad to hear you are a happy camper. We still miss you here in Denver. (BIG HUG!)

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

