Oh, the things we do for Love

In August 2009, I decided to do something a little off the beaten path…I chose to live an all girls school and be a house counselor (like an RA). I live in a little apartment on the third floor and I’m in charge of about 15 girls. What a crazy, amazing journey it’s been! When I first heard about the job, I was like, “heck no, there’s no way.” But it’s actually turning out to be the best thing that could have happened to me at this stage in my life. God is really blessing my time here. I get to hang out with high school girls (which is really the whole reason I took the job), live and eat for free, and explore passions and interests I’ve let fall by the wayside (like music!).

At the beginning of the school year, my good friend and colleague Elisabeth told me I should keep a journal about all of this. Now, I’ve been an avid journal-er since college, but my entries tend to be pretty personal (obviously) and just conversations with God. I don’t always write down what’s been happening at school day-to-day. So, I’m going to start blogging about it, even though the year is half-way over. Better late than…well, you get the idea.

I might be the only one reading this, but that’s okay. Because in ten years, I want to be able to look back and see what these days and hours were really like – not just the few things I choose to remember. I hope you enjoy reading about my journey as much as I’m enjoying living it.

Welcome to the ride!

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

